Interview with Sammee!

Today, you can read an interview with a book blogger from the UK, Sammee. Her blog is I want to read that and for people who like reading YA books this is a great interview! Enjoy and don’t forget to have look on her blog!

Tell us a bit more about you and your blog.

I’m Sammee and based in the UK. I currently work in a bookshop which feeds my book addiction! I started I Want To Read That in August 2009 as a way to keep track of everything I’ve read and it’s kind of grown from there. I review Young Adult books with a few others mixed in.

When did your interest in reading begin?

I’ve enjoyed reading for as long as I can remember but when I discovered Judy Blume I was completely addicted. I just loved her books and it showed me how magical reading could be – how easy it is to get lost in the story that you are reading.

What kind of books do you like most? (genres?)

I love all genres – I have a really wide ranging taste in books. So I love romance, mysteries, thrillers, dystopian, historical, paranormal etc. But I mainly read Young Adult.

Why do you decide to read a book? Is it because of the cover, the back, the author,the publisher…

The cover plays a really big part in whether I pick up a book or not. If I love the cover I’m happy to give the book a go. Sounds mad right? But the cover gives you an impression of what the book will be like so if it’s a great cover I hope for good things. Otherwise the synopsis on the back will draw me in or great reviews from other bloggers/readers. And the author plays a large part. If I’ve read something by an author and loved it I will check out their other books too.

Which book from your childhood do you especially remember? Why?

Tiger Eyes by Judy Blume. It completely blew me away and I have read it over and over again since and it has never lost its impact. It’s a remarkable book. It made me cry as it was so honest and real. I’ve recently bought it on audio and am listening to it on the way to work in the mornings. It’s still as amazing as I remember.

Where do you prefer to read?

I’m happy to read anywhere. I do prefer it to be quite though.

Tell us about the two most amazing books that you have ever read.

I can’t answer this question. I have read and loved so many books it’s impossible to narrow it down to just two. Obviously Tiger Eyes by Judy Blume is one that has stayed with me from my childhood. I was a massive fan of Christopher Pike’s books during my teens with Remember Me and Weekend being my favourites. I’ve loved both Before I Die and You Against Me by Jenny Downham and am completely in love with everything Courtney Summers writes. Honestly, there are just too many amazing books to pick from.

Two books I have read very recently that I thought were amazing are Divergent by Veronica Roth and Hunting Lila by Sarah Alderson. Both are so, so good!

Do you react emotionally while reading a book? (for example crying, laughing out loud…)

Always! I’ve cried, sobbed, laughed until tear were streaming down my face Before I Die by Jenny Downham and Forbidden by Tabitha Sazuma are two books that made me sob my heart out! Sean Grisworld’s Head by Lindsey Leavitt is a book that had me laughing hysterically – there is one scene involving a bike ride that had me laughing so hard! I always get really involved when I read – I think that’s why I enjoy it so much!

Have you ever read a book which you thought it would be amazing, but finally it appeared to be really disappointing?

Not often! I usually like what I read – I don’t know if I am just really good a choosing books I know I will like or if I just like a lot of books but it’s rare that I end up disliking a book.

(By Katrien and Sammee)

Wat denk jij?

