Swimming pool Sunday

 

Author: Madeleine Wickham (Sophie Kinsella)
Title: Swimming pool Sunday
Publisher: Black Swan
ISBN: 978-0-552-77671-4

On a hot day in May, the Delaney’s open their swimming pool for the whole village for charity. Louise goes with her daughters and has a nice day, trying to ignore her ex-husband an thinking of her new lover. But then the unthinkable happens. Katie, Louise’s daughter, tries to make a back-dive from the diving board and got hurt. She’s in a coma…

Her new lover, Cassian, persuades her to sue the Delaney’s, because there pool shouldn’t have been save enough. Her ex-husband, Barnaby, doesn’t know if this is the best decision. Old friendships start to crumble and gossip is going around the city.

This story was first published in 98’, but Sophie Kinsella is really popular now, so people start reading the books written under her real name (Madeleine Wickham) again. The cover of the copy I bought is really attractive and that’s one of the reasons I read the book. The story was also nice, but you notice that the writing style is different of her other books. I really enjoyed it and I think I’m going to read more of Madeleine Wickham’s other books.
I have just one remark: I think the way Katie recovered in the end wasn’t very realistic, but that doesn’t matter.

I’m rating it 4/5 stars. (I know I’m critical, but a story has to be really good before I rate it 5 stars!)

Een gedachte over “Swimming pool Sunday

  1. Pingback: Filmpje: Katriens boekenkast | Boeklover

Wat denk jij?

