The secrets between us

 

Title: The secrets between us
Author: Louise Douglas
Publisher: Bantam Press
ISBN: 978-0-593-06708-6

When Sarah meets Alexander in Sicily, she still struggles with the loss of her stillborn son, a few months earlier. Alexander’s s wife  disappeared and they both need a new partner, so they decide that Sarah is going to live with him in Burrington Stoke, a beautiful village in England.

Everyone talks about Genevieve, Alexander’s wife who walked out on her life and only left a message in which she told she would contact him soon. There’s a lot of gossip and people are wondering what happened to her. When they see Sarah they aren’t friendly, because they think she wants to replace Genevieve by herself.
Sarah doesn’t know what she has to think about Alexander. It seems he has a lot of secrets he doesn’t tell her and she doesn’t know who she can trust.
Where is Genevieve and what happened to her? Has it something to do with Alexander?

I have to admit that in the beginning, I thought I wouldn’t like the story, because it was a bit cliché. Boy meets girl on holiday and they decide to live together. I was expecting lots of predictable things, but the opposite was true. It was a surprising story and it was even scary at some points. I just have one other remark: when Sarah had to search something or she must go in rooms where she hadn’t been before in the house, then you could be sure she found out about a new secret. I think the stuff had to be better hidden in the story, so the reader wouldn’t know it before reading.
But further I can only say positive things, because I like mysterious stories with not too much police in it and this was perfect. I also like the romantic parts and of course the happy ending!

I’m rating this story 4 out of 5 stars! (Which means I really enjoyed the story, it was nearly perfect!)

This book was the last book I’ve read for the transworld book group. (I’m sorry for ending a week to late!)

Book Group Logo

 

2 gedachtes over “The secrets between us

  1. Pingback: Best of 2011!! | Boeklover

  2. Pingback: Filmpje: Katriens boekenkast | Boeklover

Wat denk jij?

