Interview with daniela sacerdoti

Sunday you could already read what I thought about Watch over me, but today I have something even better! An interview with Daniela Sacerdoti! Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Bio (from her website):
Daniela Sacerdoti is a mother and a writer. Born in Naples, but brought up in a small village in the Italian Alps, she lives near Glasgow with her husband and sons. She calls herself a thief of time – she steals time to write when everyone has gone to bed, or before they wake up. She’s a Primary teacher, but she chose to be at home with her children. She loves being with her boys, doing art with them, reading anything she can get her hands on and chatting with her girlfriends. But she also adores being on her own, free to daydream and make up stories.

Q: Why should we read your book?
A: Because it’ll make you laugh, it’ll make you cry, and it’ll stay with you.

Q: When did you decide you wanted to become an author?
A: I didn’t really decide…it happened! I was very, very lucky. And it took a lot of courage to submit to publishers and agents, and take rejection in my stride.

Q: Which are your favourite authors/books?
A: Anne of Green Gables by Lucy M.Montgomery, Anna Karenina by Lev Tolstoj, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte and I Malavoglia by Giuseppe Verga. My favourite poet is Sorley McLean, a Scottish poet who speaks my heart.

Q: Do you think that people of your family who are deceased can change your life? (As in Watch over me…)
A: I think that the memory of them, and what lives of them in blood, can shape our life and sustain us in the hard times.

Q: Can we find aspects of your own life in Watch over me ?
A: Very much so, but I’m not saying what!

Q: Was it difficult to choose a title? Do you think it represents the content of the novel?
A: The title came with the novel, there was never another option, because it’s perfect. It’s actually a line from a poem I wrote when I was in my twenties. The whole line is “Watch over me while I’m sleeping/my secret joy, my resting place…” maybe I’ll publish it somewhere, who knows.

Q: Who is your favourite character in the story?
A: It’s got to be Eilidh, because there’s so much of me in her…but of course, I’m in love with Jamie!

Q: What’s your golden writing tip?
A: Push yourself well out of your comfort zone, be humble, work hard and ignore rejection. Oh and also don’t write for the market, write from your heart, the readers will know if what you’re writing is true and honest.

Q: Are you currently writing another novel?
A: Yes, the second volume of the Sarah Midnight Trilogy. The first volume, Dreams, is out with Black and White next May. It’s a Young Adult and I absolutely adored writing it.

You can buy her novel on Amazon or in the bookstores!

 

(by Katrien)

Wat denk jij?

