the night strangers

Title: The night strangers
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Publisher: Simon and Schuster UK
ISBN: 978-0-857-20673-2
Year: 2011
Number of pages: 378

When Chip  Linton’s plane crashes he, his wife and their twins decide to move to New Hampshire. There they live in an old Victorian house, which needs lots of reparations.
Then Chip discovers a door in the basement that doesn’t open. It’s sealed shut with thirty-nine bolts. The same number of people died in the plane crash…
In the little village are some women who call themselves the herbalists. They make tinctures from exotic plants they grow in their greenhouses and they are extremely interested in the twins. Emily, their mother, starts feeling uncomfortable by their attention and wants to protect her family.
In the meanwhile her husband, Chip, loses his grip on reality and begins to see ghosts of some people who died in the crash. This makes everything worse and Emily doesn’t know what to do.

When I first saw this book, I was immediately intrigued by its cover. It’s mysterious and I was curious what the book  was about. I’m happy to say that I loved both the story and the characters.
This isn’t a book I would like to read when I’m alone at home, late in the evening, because it’s scary at some points. I couldn’t get that those herbalists could go that far for their tinctures by using blood of little children. Also the house and the ghosts where creepy. It reminded me of my own basement and the attic of my grandmother. These are classic places for creepy stories, but they were used in an original way and that was what made the story interesting.
In the end, the plot totally changed and I had to concentrate to make sure I didn’t miss something, but it was brilliant and not what I expected. 
What I personally found a bit difficult were the names of the characters. Especially Reseda and Anise, because I switched them all the time.
Rating: 5 stars

(by Katrien)

*A copy was provided by the publisher Simon & Schuster UK

4 gedachtes over “the night strangers

  1. Pingback: Filmpje: Katriens boekenkast | Boeklover

  2. Pingback: Een terugblik op 2012 | Boeklover

Wat denk jij?

