The book of summers

Title: The book of Summers
Author: Emilia Hall
Publisher: Headline Review
Year: 2012 (March)
Number of pages: 372

When Beth’s father visits her it’s not a normal visit. He brings her parcel with a letter inside informing her that her long-estranged mother has died, and a scrapbook that Beth has never seen before. The cover says: The book of summers and inside are pictures from the seven perfect summers she spent with her mother in Hungary.

Beth hasn’t allowed herself to think about those childhood memories since the end of the seventh summer. In this book, guided by the pictures in The books of summers, she tells the story about Hungary, her special mother, her father and the relationships between them until the year she became sixteen, when everything changed.

First of all I want to say that this is one of the most beautiful covers I have ever seen! And that’s why I wanted to read this book, but also because of the theme. I love books that are situated in foreign countries during special summer holidays.
This book takes you to Hungary in the first half of the nineties, after the Berlin wall came down.
I love the descriptions about the people, the places and the things Beth feels.
The use of a scrapbook as thread through the story is very innovative as you  compare it with diaries or letters and this made the story attracting.

When the big secret was revealed in the end, I was on the one hand surprised, but on the other I was disappointed that Beth stayed angry for so long. I can perfectly understand that it was a shock for her to discover this, and in the heat of the moment I would do the same, but after a few weeks I think I would change my mind and give people a second chance. Things were done with good intentions, not to make things worse for Beth.

I was impressed by this wonderful book! It is well written and intrigued me from the first page. I hope to read more from Emilia Hall soon!

Rating: 4 stars!

by Katrien

2 gedachtes over “The book of summers

Wat denk jij?

