First impressions: Divergent

First impressions is a new feature on Boeklover, where I (Katrien), read and review the first chapters of a book that I haven’t read before. This idea was not mine, but Judith’s, who did the same on her Dutch book blog.
First chapters give me the chance to try something new and decide whether I want to read on or not. It can be a new genre, author, or just something that meets my eye which does me read the beginning of a book.
All these FREE first chapters are provided by my eReader store or from the publisher’s website, where I can find previews.
N.B. My reviews are based on the first chapters of a book and can not be interpreted as concerning the whole book.

Which book? Divergent by Veronica Roth

Short summary from publishers’ website
In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.
During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

Why did I read the preview?
I had already heard a lot about this highly acclaimed bestseller. As I’m not really a fan of dystopian fiction, nor fantasy, purchasing this book wouldn’t be a very good idea. Whereas the opportunity to read the first two chapters on my Kobo for free was just what I needed to explore this novel.

My first impressions:
As usual, the story starts ab ovo, which means the characters are described and you get to know something about the society Beatrice lives in. After that you are confronted with the problem: the five factions.
All this was interesting, but didn’t immediately appeal to read on, but when I read the second chapter I was convinced. Here the action starts and a whole new world opens before your eyes. I had a bit of a Hungergames feeling, which I like.
After the second chapter I have decided that I want to give this book a fair chance by reading it. I’m not going to buy it, but if I can catch a copy, I’ll certainly add it to my TBR-pile.

Final conclusion:
This book is worth a try and perhaps I should consider to read some dystopian fiction? I didn’t read much in the genre so far, but what I read was nice and there are so much more books out there! It’s just that I’m afraid I won’t like it. (Has anyone tips, please!)

by Katrien

Did you read Divergent and what do you think about it? Should I read it?


2 gedachtes over “First impressions: Divergent

  1. I love dystopian books but somehow haven’t read this one yet. But I’ve heard it’s really good. And if you’re interested in reading the rest when you’re not even a dystopian fan, well… that IS promising!

Wat denk jij?

