The time of my life

Title: The time of my life
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Publisher: Harper
ISBN: 978-0-00-743395-7
Pages: 484

Synopsis from the back of the book:
Lose yourself in the magical world of No.1 bestselling author, Cecelia Ahern.
Are you taking your life for granted?
Lucy Silchester is. She’s busied herself with other stuff: friends’ lives, work issues, her deteriorating car, that kind of thing. But she’s stuck in a rut – and deluding everyone. Only Lucy knows the real truth.
Time for a wake-up call – a meeting with life. And life turns out to be a kindly, rather run-down man in an old suit, who is determined to bring about change – and won’t let Lucy off the hook.
Sometimes we all need to make time for our life…

I had heard a lot of positive things about the books by Cecelia Ahern and after Ellen had read a book by her and it was recommended by a goodreads-friend I have bought this book and I don’t regret it!

This kind of books are set in the normal world, but with a little touch of magic they change our whole way of thinking about things.
This was also the case in The time of my life. Life turned out to be a real existing person, who knew everything about Lucy and at the beginning of the story this was strange, but I liked it.

At the start, I had difficulties to get ‘in’ the story and I didn’t really enjoy it, but when Life showed up my opinion changed and I started liking the story.
The storyline was nice and took twists and turns I didn’t expect, so it wasn’t too predictable, which I often expect with these books. So overall, I liked it, except one thing: the main character! I just couldn’t like Lucy, she was so annoying and she made a whole mess of her life. She lied to everyone, came late on meetings and always left early… She wasn’t my kind of person, but this didn’t ruin the story. I was interested in how she would solve her problems. Even though I didn’t like her!

4 op 5

 

 

Dutch translation: De tijd van mijn leven, published by Prometheus.

4 gedachtes over “The time of my life

Wat denk jij?

