Tempest in the Tea Leaves

Title: Tempest in the Tea Leaves
Author: Kari Lee Townsend
Publisher: Berkley Prime Crime
ISBN: 978-0-425-24275-9
Year: 2011

When Sunshine Meadows arrives in the little town of Divinity to start her own psychic business strange things happen.
After reading the tea leaves for Amanda Robbins, the local library manager, Amanda is murdered.
The last person to see her was Sunny, so it seems there is some trouble in those magic tea leaves of hers.
And there’s that cop, detective Stone with whom she ought to work together…

At first I wasn’t totally convinced by this book. Sunny is murder suspect number one and promptly she is asked by the police to help finding the murderer and clear her name. Strange…
But, soon I realised that I just had to get over this and I started enjoying this novel more and more. It’s a cozy mystery, so those who love ‘the real crime’ won’t get anything.

Sunny is a funny character who acts before she thinks and I loved her job as a psychic. She lives in an old Victorian house (as on the cover) with her cat Morty who seems to be smarter than most people think.
Not only her house, but the whole town was well described and I would like to take a look in this place.
My favourite place was, of course, the library. And lucky for me, this place seemed to be quiet important…

The whole investigation went very quickly, but it didn’t bother me. It is just a fun story with a lot of loveable characters who all have their own secrets.
I certainly loved the moment when the murderer and his motive were revealed. It was not who I thought it was, but I was thinking in the right direction.

Do you want something light and sweet, but with some action? Then is this the perfect read for you!
I have this book on my shelf for more than a year now, but it’s a shame I didn’t start reading it earlier.

4 op 5

Een gedachte over “Tempest in the Tea Leaves

  1. Pingback: WIN ‘Turbulentie’ of ‘Tempest in the Tea Leaves’ | Boeklover

Wat denk jij?

