Before I go to sleep

Title: Before I go to sleep
Author: S.J. Watson
Publisher: Doubleday
Year: 2011

Synopsis from publisher
As I sleep, my mind will erase everything I did today. I will wake up tomorrow as I did this morning. Thinking I’m still a child. Thinking I have a whole lifetime of choice ahead of me …’ Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love – all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story. Welcome to Christine’s life.

Wow! This is the kind of book yousimply can’t put down! You start reading and you have to know what happens next.
I heard a lot about this book and decided to read it myself. I want to carry out the same message to everyone else: read it!

It’s not that there is this suspense you often have in crime novels. Only at the end, but still you keep on reading, because you want to know the truth.
I loved that whole diary idea, but I wondered how Christine could write so quickly, because otherwise it would be very obvious that she was doing something wrong (in the eyes of her husband, Ben).

After a while you, the reader, start to get confused too. Who can Christine trust? You quickly realise: nobody, because she doesn’t have memories.
I was really guessing what was wrong, but I didn’t have a clue. The last chapter was a total surprise for me.

My only remark is that the ending is too perfect. It’s like every piece of the puzzle has fallen into place, while I’m convinced that it is not possible in such a situation. But that is a minor point of critique, as I enjoyed this story so much.

5 op 5

 

 

 

This book is also available in Dutch, Voor ik ga slapen is the title.

Extra: interview with the author

Interview with SJ Watson

11 gedachtes over “Before I go to sleep

  1. Yay! I also loved this book. I totally agree with you that it was unlikely that Christine could write all of that without her husband noticing (and she had to spend a lot of time reading as well!). The ending was much to perfect. To me it felt as if the author had run out of energy and wanted a quick ending.

  2. Pingback: Een terugblik op 2012 | Boeklover

  3. Ik moet eerlijk toegeven dat ik het boek niet zo’n succes vond. Halverwege het boek wist ik al hoe het zou eindigen. Te doorzichtig.

  4. Pingback: Sluit mijn ogen – Sophie McKenzie | Boeklover

Wat denk jij?

