Forever

Title: Forever
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Publisher: Scholastic
ISBN: 978-1-407121-11-6
Year: 2011
Pages: 496

Publisher’s synopsis
then.
When Sam met Grace, he was a wolf and she was a girl. Eventually he found a way to become a boy, and their loved moved from curious distance to the intense closeness of shared lives.
now.
That should have been the end of their story. But Grace was not meant to stay human. Now she is the wolf. And the wolves of Mercy Falls are about to be killed in one final, spectacular hunt.
forever.
Sam would do anything for Grace. But can one boy and one love really change a hostile, predatory world? The past, the present, and the future are about to collide in one pure moment – a moment of death or life, farewell or forever.

It has been a few years since I read the other books in The Wolves of Mercy Falls series.
I loved those books, but because of the time gap I was reluctant to start reading this one. I just couldn’t remember how much I enjoyed them…
Lately I was struggling to find a book that I really liked. All the books I read were okay, but didn’t give me that sparkling feeling that I love so much about books anymore. And then came Forever… it’s such an amazing novel!

First you need to know that Maggie Stiefvater isn’t one of those fantasy writers who have got a broad imagination, but aren’t able to write. Stiefvater has a pleasant writing style and writes even a bit lyrical.

The book is separated in many chapters and every chapter is told from the point of view of Isabel, Grace, Cole or Sam. This gives you a lot of insight in the situation and made me want to read on.
The story itself was also very nice. Sam and Cole, another wolf, aren’t getting on that well at first, but it evolves gradually to some kind of friendship. They have both the same goal, i.e. trying to make Grace human again.
It ends with a huge change for the wolves, but I expected no less, given that this is the last book in the trilogy.

Normally, I’m not a fantasy lover, but this is an exception and I recommend this book to everyone. Just throw the prejudges and credibility away and start reading!

4,5 op 5

 

 

Extra: Ellen’s review of Shiver (Huiver) can be found here. If you want to know more about Linger, click here.

5 gedachtes over “Forever

  1. Pingback: Een terugblik op 2012 | Boeklover

Wat denk jij?

