Teacher, Teacher!

IMG_2030

Book Group LogoTitle: Teacher, Teacher!

Author: Jack Sheffield

Publisher: Corgi

ISBN: 978-0-552-15528-1

This is a funny autobiographical book with in every chapter a funny anecdote. It’s not a long story, but every chapter contains a new event that happened in the school year 1977-1978, when Jack Sheffield was headmaster in a little village school in Ragley, North Yorkshire.
After a wile you get to know the staff and some of the parents. There were a few I especially liked. Ruby, the caretaker had her own special way of spelling. I also liked Vera, the secretary and Beth, Mr. Sheffield’s lover.

The stories about sport I liked less, but the ones about the Summer fair, The boat girl and especially Dancing with your eyes were really nice and sometimes even touched me.

I just have one remark: all the written dialects where really annoying, because It’s more difficult to read and understand. Sometimes a bit of it is OK, but not a whole dialogue.
This was the third book I have read for the Transworld reading challenge and I have to say that it’s the best book I have read so far.
This book is really suitable for people who don’t want a long story, but just now and then a little bit of reading. But reading in one time is also nice, because you know the characters and you’re immediately into the story.
I have decided I’m going to re-read some of the anecdotes.

I’m rating it 4 stars, which is really good!

Has anyone of you ever read this or another book by Jack Sheffield?

Wat denk jij?